Favorite Couples!

It’s Valentines Day.

I’m single.

So let’s talk about books. Books never leave me!

Today i’m going to talk about my favorite book couples but only from books I own because I won’t remember everyone if I try to think of every book I’ve read. In no particular order:

  • Anna and Max from Those Who Save Us by Jenna Blum. Oh. My. God. I LOVE these two. More-so I love Max, and I love that Anna loves him. Max is super rough and sexy and I am very sad that I met him knowing what would happen *spoilers*
  • Mehuru and Francis from A Respectable Trade by Philippa Gregory. This book punched me in the chest in a way I can’t explain. Because I doubt many of you have read it have some back story; Mehuru is a slave in England and Francis is the wife of the man who bought him. Yeah. Let that one sink in. Their love was just so. . . gorgeous! UH, I can. not. deal.
  • John and Suckahanna from Virgin Earth by Philippa Gregory. These two were just super cute and “John Smith/Pocahontas”-esque. Like to the point that the Powhatan compare the two (Pocahontas having only died a few decades prior to this story). I am always a fan of the “Falling in love with an outsider” love story line that is found all over historical fiction/nonfiction (John and Pocahontas, Anna and The King, Mehuru and Francis). The problem with these story lines is that it ends one of two ways and one of those ways is that it ends. Then the sadness sets into the Tarina and she just cries tears of sad.
  • Jamie and Cesei Lannister from A Song of Ice and Fire Series by George R.R. Martin. Don’t kill me. I know. They’re twins. And I HATE Cersei; I hope she dies and that it is painful MOSTLY because of the way she treats Jamie because his love for her is so pure and true and unwavering. I don’t like them as a couple so much as I love his love for her. When i realized just how sincere and totally devoted his love for her was I began to like him as a character and when i realized how she was using him and lying to him I began to hate her and love him more. (My favorite trilogy is about incest, I’m pretty desensitized at this point)
  • Beatrice and Ralph from Wideacre by Philippa Gregory. I fell in love with these two and their forbidden love when i was 11 (I read these books at 11. If you know these books you will see the problem and, like many before you, question who let me do that). Granted shit didn’t go as planned and I felt all the feels in ways I didn’t even know I could feel. Then shit just continues to get weird and I feel more feels but none like my Beatrice/Ralph feels. (This is also one where one person is in love and the other is a fucking psychopath)
  • Meridon and Will from Meridon by Philippa Gregory (part of the Wideacre trilogy). These two. These. Two. They are super cute together and ugh the feels. In Meridon I put three books worth of love and devotion to her family so when she met Will and fell in love i knew. I knew my baby was going to have a happy ending and I’m so happy for their love! I need to read this book again. I’ve read it more times than the first two books in the series. Oops.
  • Cassie and Beast from The Rose Garden by Michelle West. This is a short story and a different kind of love. It is not romantic love more paternal love, more Agape, Storge, and Phileo all rolled in one beautiful relationship. This story is a Beauty and the Beast retelling which makes it so much better. I have it in a collection of fairytales that I stole from the library.

I think that is it. I don’t read lots of books with couples and I’m realizing that I tend to love individual characters more than couples. I’m the Scrooge of Valentines Day ❤ Tell me your favorite literary couples down in the comments!

Leave a Reply

