We’re off to see the Wizard! (March TBR Jar Book)

In March I was challenged to read a book from the 1890’s and so I chose The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum. Being me I couldn’t just buy the first book though,, I had to purchase the box set of all 15 books in 5 volumes.

Oz

Now I didn’t receive these books until the 29th and so I had to stop reading book 2 of the Wideacre Trilogy in order to finish the first book The Wonderful Wizard of Oz (not to be confused with the first volume) by today, approximately 10 minutes before starting this post.

WP_20150329_046

The first book of this 15 book series is the one we all know and love. it’s the one the movie The Wizard of Oz is based off of. I don’t know who wrote the screen play for that movie but they clearly worked their little asses off to make it more child friendly and quaint! The main plot points are all the same; there is a twister, a road of yellow brick, Emerald City, Oz himself, kill the witch, and then go home but all the in between parts are different. It’s honestly just a clear case of the books being better. Not that I in anyway dislike or begrudge the film adaptation!

I understand some of the changes too; lots of stuff happens on the way to the Emerald City and lots of stuff happens on the way to the Wicked Witch of the West and on film it would have been a bit much to include it all! They also cut out a ton of random violence. Many creatures die. Like at one point the Tin Woodman hacks 40 wolves to death. It’s a little crazy!

But enough about the book to movie adaptation! The book itself is adorable! Clearly a childrens book and one I can’t wait to share with my niece and future nephew. I’m just as excited for the next 14 books as I was for this first one, which is always nice 🙂

WP_20150331_019

Book 8 of 36: The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum

  • 1- Don’t Read
  • 2- It’s Good
  • 3- Read
  • 4- Highly Recommend
  • 5- Must Read

This doesn’t need much explanation does it? The Wonderful Wizard of Oz is a classic and it is, as the name suggests, wonderful. it’s full of timeless fun and violence. What else could you ask for!?

WP_20150331_021
WHY WON”T THE EVER GO BACK IN THE BOX!?!?!?!

The box set I have comes from HERE, it’s not illustrated  which sucks but it’s  beautiful box set.

2 thoughts on “We’re off to see the Wizard! (March TBR Jar Book)

Leave a Reply

