DISNEY BOOK TAG!!!

GUYS I LOVE DISNEY! The every wonderful amazing Kat from Katytastic created this Disney book TAG and I’m super excited to do it so let’s just get started. Alright.

Oh yeah, spoiler alert right off the bat.

1. The Little Mermaid – a character who is out of their element, a “fish out of water”
This is an easy choice, one of my favorite characters of all time Meridon from Phillipa Gregory’s Meridon. This is the third book in a trilogy and the main character, Meridon, is being raised by a gypsy family but she keeps feeling as if she doesn’t belong. she doesn’t look like her dark haired sister, she doesn’t feel like she belongs to the same world has her deck stacking Da and it’s because she doesn’t. She find out she is heir to Wideacre and is one of the wealthiest of Sussex counties gentry. But Meridon doesn’t fit in here either. she was not raised to be a parlor miss and wife. It’s a great story of nature versus nurture. I love it, and I always highly recommend the whole series if you can stomach some serious dirt.

2. Cinderella – a character who goes through a major transformation
Not as easy as the last one. I think this would be easier if more than half of my books weren’t in a goddamned tote right now and I could look at them! But excuse my irritation.

I choose Guy Montag from Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451. Strange choice I know. Many characters experience character growth and change throughout the story so i wanted something drastic and noticeable. What is more drastic than going from burning books on page one and saving books by the end of the book? Guy changes so much in this book and it’s not all at once. Even at the end of the book he isn’t 100% sure if he’s doing the right thing. I love his character.

3. Snow White – a book with an eclectic cast of characters
The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd. This is probably just in my head because I read it recently but it works well i think. The ‘Calender’ sisters August, May, and June are definitely  an eccentric bunch of characters, not to mention the Daughters of Mary. Oh man, so much personality in such a tiny book!

4. Sleeping Beauty – a book that put you to sleep
I hate to say this. Oh dear god do i hate to say this.

The Other Queen by Phillipa Gregory.

There I said it. It isn’t good. It’s not well written. i don’t like it. i didn’t finish. It was boring. Moving on.

I love you Phillipa.

5. The Lion King – a character who had something traumatic happen to them in childhood
I am going to go with the narrator of Cherry Heaven by L.J. Adlington (I honestly can’t remember who this narrator turns out to be I really need to read this again) I am not going to tell you anything I’m just going to leave you the very first sentence of this book;

” the last birthday i ever had, years ago, was the one where i got shot instead of presents.”

Yeah. That.

Also apparently this is a sequl or companion to another book and WHAT!? I might as well find it and binge them? Yeah. Sounds good.

6. Beauty and the Beast – A beast of a book (a big book) that you were intimidated by, but found the story to be beautiful
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. I’ve told the story of this book a few times already but in summary; I was 14 and for some ungodly reason I picked up Jane Eyre. It took 2 full weeks of struggling to comprehend a reading level just out of reach but i did it. It was so worth it. It is now one of my favorite books.

7. Aladdin – a character who gets their wish granted, for better or worse
Man i am so bad at thinking past the last few books I’ve read so I’m going to say Cinder from Cinder by Marissa Meyer. All Cinder wants is to be free of her step-mother, free of New Beijing, free of her life which she find oppressive and causes her nothing but unhappiness. Spoiler alert: she get’s her wish.

8. Mulan – a character who pretends to be someone or something they are not
Hannah Green from The Queens Fool by Phillipa Gregory. Hannah is a “Christianized Jew” loving during the reign of Mary I of England after her and her father flee the Spanish Inquisition. Hannah is a Jew living as a Christian and when she is taken into he service of Bloody Mary she must pretend to be the most devout of Catholics in order to escape death all the while trying to stay true to her religion and her culture.

9. Toy Story – a book with characters you wish would come to life
So remember THIS review of a book written by a member of and about the Sim fandom? It’s called Splash of color with cherry Blossom and it’s by a simmer/blogger/author named Berry. it’s the story of the daughter of her power couple Chantilly Lace and Merlot. Lacelot for short. I would love for Lacelot to come to life and be real. Their stories are amazing and I love every incarnation of them.

10. Disney Descendants – your favorite villain or morally ambiguous character
Beatrice from Phillipa Gregory’s Wideacre the first book in my favorite trilogy, Wideacre. This bitch. THIS. BITCH. i hate her. I absolutely hate Beatrice. She is morally bankrupt and an absolute cunt to every person who steps into her life. she destroys people. she destroys the only thing she ever truly loves. They say she makes the wheat grow but she kills everything else. And so do her demon spawn. But she is the main character and the person whose POV we see so it’s hard not to cheer her ona dn want her to succeed. She is one of few characters I have ever loved and hated so much all at the same time.

All right that’s it for this TAG!

Feel free to consider yourself tagged.

PEACE

Leave a Reply

