July Book Haul

This is probably my smallest book haul ever. Like even when i go to the thrift store and pick random books I tend to get more than i’ve gotten the entire month of July. It’s weird.

I have only FOUR books to haul tonight :/ Two of which I bought an hour ago during an “I’m sad let’s spend money” trip to Target.

Between my vacation earlier this month, moving, work cutting my hours, and saving to renovate my RV I have not done any shopping lately. If I don’t set foot in the stores I’m less likely to buy the books.

Any way on wards and forwards:

DSC_3843

I’ll talk about these in the order I bought them.

Fairest by Marissa Meyer: This book is a companion novel to Meyers The Lunar Chronicles that follows the life of the evil Lunar queen Lavana and acts as a prequel to the events in the other books. I hauled The Lunar Chronicles main books back in March but only picked them up on July first, I zipped through them and halfway through Scarlet I knew I had to go out and buy Fairest so to Target I went. I’ve already posted my review of Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress. The review for Fairest should be up shortly.

The Ice Twins by S.K. Tremayne:  My boyfriend bought this for my off of Amazon after I pointed out that if he could have a $15 bottle of Kombucha (high end, local stuff but still) then I could get a book. I first heard of this book when Lala, from BooksandLala hauled it. It’s about a couple who start to believe that their daughter, their surviving identical twin, may not be the twin they originally thought survived. It’s apparently a thriller? The premise caught my interest and even though she says she didn’t like the ending I want to give it a try.

Deep Blue by Jennifer Donnelly: I have no idea what this is about. Mermaids or something. It’s Disney. I know that much. This was on of the books I picked up tonight and it’s actually the first in a trilogy; The Water Fire Saga. Book two was also available at Target and I would have picked it up as well but this one is paperback and that one is hardcover and they were the only editions available of each. Ain’t that just like a bitch.

SIDE NOTE: Target not having matching editions of series is one of my biggest pet peeves. It was the same thing with The Lunar Chronicles. When I went to buy Fairest I immediately remembered why i hadn’t bought it in the first place; it was only available in hardcover and the rest of the series was only available in paperback. -_- This is the main reason i own multiples of things. 

Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee: I feel this book needs no introduction but in case you’ve been living under a rock this is Harper Lee’s long awaited sequel to her debut novel To Kill a Mockingbird. I have mixed feelings about this book but I am move than a little excited to read it, in fact I pushed over my spending budget today when i saw it.

So that’s it. Every book i purchased in July and all of them I bought NEW that NEVER happens!

DSC_3847

Oh and here’s a picture of my hardcovers all naked and what-not. Scandalous but look at all that pretty!

PEACE

Leave a Reply

