OMFG WHAT IS THIS BOOK DOING TO ME: A book review

11752507_904146212957332_8291415128141326244_n

Fourteen months after the death of one of their identical twin daughters the Moorcrofts 7 year old surviving twin looks at her mother;

“Why do you keep calling me Kirstie, Mummy? Kirstie is dead. It was Kirstie that died. I’m Lydia.”

. . .

. . .

. . .

The Ice Twins by S.K. Tremayne fucked my shit up.

I first heard of this book from Lala over at BooksandLala; she actually said she did not like this book in her Rainbow Readathon Wrap-up (start at 4:15) She hated it so much in fact that she wanted to return it to the store where she bought it. That extreme reaction caught my attention and I bought the book shortly after when it went on sale on Amazon.

I was immediately sucked right in. It grabbed me and held me tight until i finished. I read until I fell asleep, then I woke up and read, I read on the train to work, I read on my break, I read on the way home, I read until I closed the book and stared at it for a solid few minutes. It wasn’t until i closed the book that I understood, fully, what was actually happening. The story wants you confused, it plays on your confusion, and the confusion of the family. You open it expecting one thing and you get something else entirely.

4347086258_3b765d3df1_b

Book 26 of 36: The Ice Twins by S.K. Tremayne

  • 1- Donโ€™t Read
  • 2- Itโ€™s Good
  • 3- Read
  • 4- Highly Recommend
  • 5- Must Read

If you want a thriller that will keep you turning the page pick up this book. I get into my books when i read but this book left me feeling anxious and afraid long after I’d put it down. It’s creepy in the best way possible.

images

ย SPOILERS!

I’m assuming you are only reading this section if you’ve read the book or you like ruining plot twists. You’ve been warned.

Lala didn’t like this book and I was prepared to be disappointed with the ending, I was not. I was massively confused for about a minute. . . and then it dawned on me. The ghosts are real.

When i read a book about unicorns I am accepting that unicorns are real in this world. Until i close the book unicorns are real. Opening The Ice Twins I didn’t know I had to accept that ghosts were real, that ‘thin places’ were real, that vengeful daughters could come back to haunt their mothers.

That’s why Lala didn’t like it. It makes you think that this is reality (if you believe in ghosts sorry, I don’t) that we are working within real parameters of possibility but then they move to this ‘thin place’ and what was Kirsties delusion stops being a delusion. I firmly believe that in London the girl was simply feeling extreme guilt and loss, what she was saying wasn’t THAT out of the ordinary given the circumstances. But then they get to Torran and Lydia really IS coming back and Kirstie is more confused than ever, more scared than ever.

I tried writing it off as just “She’s gone mad poor child” but no, the little girl from school sees it, her parents see it, it’s real. Lydia is INSIDE of Kirstie and you can see her in the mirrors.

The child who drowns with Sarah is already dead, but she WAS there, getting revenge on her mother and saving her sister. Perhaps forgiving her for the push. That’s what Lala didn’t like, thats why she says things don’t get explained properly; she was working off the assumption that these things were not actually happening but the story only makes sense if ghosts are real. If Lydia is real.

I’d really like to hear how others interpreted this book.

Leave a Reply

