August Book Haul + Wrap-Up

It’s only, what, 11 days late…

We will start with my MAMMOTH of a haul. No, it’s not a large haul, it’s just a super expensive haul. Like $100+. I went a little crazy during a few trips to Barnes and Noble. So let’s jump right in so I can get this over with πŸ˜›

DSC_4402Yup. You’re looking at over $100 of my hard earned money in two tiny stacks of books. If you recall June, I got over 18 books and spent less than half of that. Support your local thrift/bookstores everybody!

Excessive Book Shopping Day the First:

DSC_4404

On the first day of August I rushed to my local Barnes and Noble to pick up my TBR Jar book for the month. It turned into a pretty expensive shopping spree.

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir: You can check out my review of this book over here but to get right to the point I loved this book and I am eagerly awaiting the next one!

The Wrath & The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh: I originally heard about this book over at Katytastic and immediately fell in love with it! It is a retelling of the Arabian Nights, also known as The 1,001 Nights and I was all about this book! Until i actually picked it up that is, I was greatly disappointed and DNF’d after about 20 pages.

The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne: I love me a good ‘classic’ so when i saw this hanging around the bargain bin I said “Why the hell not” and then I read this over a particularly brutal road trip. It is the stpry of a Purtian woman in New England who has a child out of wedlock and the punishment that is handed down on her. I wasn’t impressed but I’m glad to have finally read it.

Excessive Book Shopping Day the Second:

DSC_4406I don’t even know HOW my boyfriend and I ended up in Barnes and Noble, close to close that night but I spent $80 and he spent $30. . . clearly I’m the one with the problems.

A World Lit Only by Fire by William Manchester: This is a nonfiction about medieval Europe and one of my favorite reads of all time. I got another edition of this book for my AP European History class in high school and I LOVED it so much that I’ve always told myself I would read it again, and LO! Look at all that pretty I found on a shelf at Barnes and Noble for an amount of money i never even looked at!

Blood & Beauty by Sarah Dunant: This is about the Borgias I believe. I honestly only picked iut up because it was $5 and I have a problem but I am excited to read it!

Zodiac by Romina Russell: Again i do not know what this book is about but when it was still a brand new release I sent it to a pen pal of mine as a birthday gift and I got back a really excited reply after she’d read it. I had to see what all the fuss was about πŸ™‚

Beauty by Sarah Pinborough: This is a retelling mashup of several classic fairy tales. It is also the sexiest book (physically and aesthetically) I’ve come across in a while. It is quite short and I read it in two hours after work one day. Nothing to rave about but a quick fun read for adults. Like seriously don’t let your middle-schooler pick this up, the violence is pretty bad but the sex is really graphic and while I don’t think younger humans shouldn’t know what all that stuff is already, I do think introducing the phrase “He stuck his c*ck in her mouth.” too young may have it’s consequences.

Cruel Beauty by Rosmund Hodge: This is another fairy tale retelling, this time Beauty and the Beast. It is an interesting twist with a good riddle to solve. Again, nothing to rave about but I enjoyed every moment, and the Beast was every YA fiction dream guy, and funny to boot!

Excessive Book Shopping Day the Third:

DSC_4408This haul came AFTER a few weeks of being on a book buying ban. I told myself I wouldn’t buy another book in the month of August but my cousin and I found a great little thrift store where they had a deal of 8 paperbacks for $2. Come. The. Fuck. On. It would literally be irresponsible NOT to buy these! Funnily enough they didn’t have many paperbacks that spoke to me so I got only 3 of the 8.

Where the Heart Is by Billie Letts: This is the story of a teenage girl who secretly lives and gives birth in a Walmart. I didn’t know it was a book but I’ve seen the movie like 20 times. It’s nothing special, the movie, but it’s one of those TV movies that I put on if I see it because why not? I’ve read the first paragraph of this one and it isn’t wowing me (shocking!) but I have a goal to read all the books movies i like are based off of.

The Known World by Edward P. Jones: I don’t know what this is about, slavery I believe. I just picked it up because it looked nice.

Wurthering Heights by Emily Bronte: Another classic that I’ve always wanted to read/own. I’ve read Jane Eyre by the authors sister and it’s one of my favorite books so I’ve always wanted to read more by the Bronte sisters.

Now onto my Wrap-up!

This month I read 10 books! That’s a LOT for me but all through August I was DEVOURING books. In the first week I read about a book a day.

In order I read-

  1. The Kings Curse by Phillipa Gregory, finished on the 2nd.
  2. The Ice Twins by S.K. Tremayne, finished on the 3rd.
  3. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir, finished on the 5th.
  4. Cruel Beauty by Rosmund Hodge, finished on the 7th.
  5. Beauty by Sarah Pinborough, finished on the 7th.
  6. The Scarlett Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne, finished on the 11th.
  7. Deep Blue by Jennifer Donnelly, finished on the 18th.
  8. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee, finished on the 20th.
  9. Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee, finished on the 22nd.
  10. Little Bee by Chris Cleave, finished on the 25th.

I began She’s Come Undone by Wally Lamb after reading Little Bee but I didn’t finish until September 6th so i’m counting it as a September book.

Now I know i haven’t posted any reviews lately and honestly it’s because for a while all of the books I read were mediocre. Nothing said “TELL THE WORLD ABOUT ME!” I felt no strong feelings toward anything between An Ember in the Ashes and To Kill a Mockingbird.

I’ve already read some good things this month though so reviews will resume. Hopefully!

Leave a Reply

