Expanding my horizons.

I am a bigot.

I like novels.

ONLY novels.

See it’s a problem.

I don’t read graphic novels or comics. I have but I just don’t. But now I have this boyfriend thing and he reads graphic novels and comics mostly. In fact he is the opposite of me, his novel consumption has been 5 to my 40+ in the time we’ve been dating.

He’s tried to get me into graphic novels before but I simply have no desire to pick one up and read it. Until today.

12047413_933866903318596_942723939_n

I got a new bookcase today and i put mostly my boyfriends graphic novels, comics, etc. on it. While organizing his comics I found Alex & Ada by Jonathan Luna and Sarah Vaughn.

AlexAda-01-0b-web72

There are 15 issues of this comic, set a year after a sentient robot massacred a few dozen people and 7 months after Alex’s fiance left him. To cheer him up his grandmother gets him an android. . . Let’s be real with each other for a second; his grandmother bought him a sex toy. But I digress.

The story of Alex & Ada is not unique, it is not phenomenal, it is certainly nothing to write home about. But it was a fun quick read and I like those every now and again.

I am a little miffed at just how predicable the story was; I should have written out my predictions beforehand because I was almost 100% correct  on that front. In any case it was well written and I can respect that. It was funny and sad and anxiety inducing. And as someone who is not a fan of the media I did enjoy the way this story played out in graphics.

Speaking of graphics I guess I should actually speak on the graphics. They are as much a story telling element in comics as words, if not more-so. I did enjoy the art style of this story and I think each graphic did a good job portraying what needed to be shown. I did have to laugh a few times because the facial expressions of some of the characters simply looked stoned instead of whatever they were supposed to look like. It made for comical reading.

42d4f6b02338ca9896536ac58ff3d98f60c34c4f

Books 45-60 of 36: Alex & Ada Issues 1-15 by Jonathan Luna and Sarah Vaughn

  • 1- Don’t Read
  • 2- It’s Good
  • 3- Read
  • 4- Highly Recommend
  • 5- Must Read

I’m going to have to give this series a solid 3/5. It is significant only because it is the first comic/graphic novel series I’ve ever read. Other than that it was just an amusing distraction from cleaning my house. I don’t regret reading it in anyway, like I said it was enjoyable, just no fireworks.

One thought on “Expanding my horizons.

Leave a Reply

