HAPPY SOLSTICE!! (TBR Jar book of December)

Happy Winter Solstice everyone! Tonight is the longest night of the year meaning that tomorrow the Sun returns and our days get longer again! I’m having a party tomorrow night to celebrate πŸ™‚

In honor of this Yule season I chose my TBR Jar book to be a festive one. My challenge for the last month of the year is to read a book that has been sitting on my shelf. I originally chose The Virgins Lover by Phillipa Gregory because not only has it been sitting on my shelf for years but i have TWO copies that have been sitting on my shelf for years.

When I couldn’t get ‘into’ it due to the business of the season I decided to pick up A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens.

_DSC9066

Dickens is one of my favorite authors, I have a collection of 5 novels by him that I want to finish next year (I’ve read A Tale of Two Cities, Great Expectations, and now A Christmas Carol). The collection has been on my boyfriends shelf for years, (it’s not really mine, Oops. Don’t tell the TBR gods.) so I’ve been waiting for the perfect moment to give it a read.

We all know this classic story, i can’t even begin to count the number of film adaptations, spoofs, and retellings have been done of it. I’ve seen at least 4 in the past week though since it’s one of my favorite stories (I love the Micky Mouse version best) but even with all of the adaptations swimming around in my brain the book is still much better!

Dickens has a way of writing that I find pretty amusing, and this book was no different. Right of the bat I was chuckling at his explanation that Marley WAS dead and we NEEDED to agree on that point or the rest of the story wouldn’t be as good. Then his descriptions of the well known scenes of Christmases past, present, and future blew me away with how warm and real they were.

The book is only 60 pages and it is split into 5 chapters. i imagine it would be great to read at bedtime over 5 nights for kids, even the little ones if you do fun voices. The only problem I had was the fight to picture the characters, the struggle of someone who has seen the movie first. Oh well, Scrooge will just forever be Donald Duck I guess πŸ˜›

_DSC9069

Books 72 of 36: A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

1- Don’t Read
2- It’s Okay
3- Read
4- Highly Recommend
5- Must Read

It’s a classic Christmas story and an easy short read. You have no reason NOT to pick it up.

Now I hope everyone has a wonderful Christmas, Kwanzaa, Hanukkah, Solstice, Yule, whatever you celebrate this winter season.Β 

PEACE

Tarina

Leave a Reply

