Mid-Year Freak Out TAG

I am aware that it’s August.

This tag still seemed appropriate for me because I didn’t read anything for a good few months at the stat of this yea so it’s still the middle of my reading season. Also I do what I want, so let’s begin shall we?

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2015.Under_the_Dome_Final
Stephen Kings Under the Dome is by far the best thing I’ve read this year. I don’t think I need to explain this. It’s King. It’s Under the Dome. It’s perfect.

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2015.
I haven’t read many sequels this year, actually I think the only one was The Wise Mans Fear by Patrick Rothfuss but I didn’t quite care for it as a sequel so I’m going to cheat and say Meridon by Philippa Gregory. It’s the 3rd book in my favorite trilogy and also the 4th time I’ve read it so I’m more than a little biased.

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to.
I was only looking forward to three books going into 2016 and have spent the past 8 three-sisters-three-queens-9781476758572_lgmonths COMPLETELY out of the loop on bookish news. That being said the only one of my anticipated releases that has been released is Three Sisters, Three Queens by Philippa Gregory and it was just released last week. I haven’t been entirely happy with Gregory for about 3 novels now but she is still my auto-buy author and I will always support her and the work she does.

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.
A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir!
An Ember in the Ashes was probably my favorite read of last year and I am eagerly awaiting the emotional roller-coaster of Torch!!

5. Biggest disappointment.
To be disappointed one has to have expectations and most of the books I read I go into blind, and sometimes with no recommendation so I am rarely disappointed. That being said I picked up Mrs. Lincoln Dressmaker by Jennifer Chiaverini expecting to hear about the incredible life of Elizabeth Keckly; a woman born into slavery, who is regularly sexually assaulted and ends up having a child by her assailant, who works hard to buy her and her childs freedom, who sends her child to college, and who creates a dressmaking business so successful she becomes the First Lady’s personal seamstress. Instead I got a book about how unstable Mary Todd Lincoln was and the only bits of Elizabeth we see are those which in someway play a part in Mrs. Lincolns life. Waste of a story if you ask me.
The only other disappointment I had was with The Majaikl Chronicles by James T. Witten. That book wasn’t nearly as horrible as I’d been led to believe and I’m mad about it.

6. Biggest surprise.
The book that surprised me the most this year was probably Too Far by Rich Shapero. I 10861891went into it blind not quite knowing what to expect but what I got was beyond anything I would have guessed. The book is told through the POV of two imaginative six years olds from homes varying degrees of broken and neglectful. They spend a summer together in their backyards in the Alaskan wilderness. This book is trippy, for lack of a more accurate term. At first I even thought it was magical realism. Through the weird imagery we see these children are dealing with very adult problems and the themes in this book are surprisingly not kid friendly and its just. . . Its weird. Its hard to tell what is real, what is their imagination, and whether or not they will carry out some of their dangerous, and deadly, plans.

7. Favorite new author. (Debut or new to you)
Patrick Rothfuss.
I had heard of The Name of the Wind but since I’m not likely to pick up fantasy I never gave it a second thought until a friend of mine made a huge deal about it. I love Rothfuss’ writing style and I left each of his books with a list of quotes and insights that meant something to me.

8. Newest fictional crush.
Bast, from the KingKiller series by Patrick Rothfuss. I would say Kvothe but he’s a piece of shit, Bast is the most perfect person in those books. He’s the only one good enough for Kvothe and yet Kvothe isn’t good enough for him.  I love him so much. Words cannot express.

9. Newest favorite character.
Bast of course. But in the interest of diversity I would have to say Kireg from The Majaikl Chronicles. He’s got a piece of shit sense of humor that reminds me a whole lot of this guy I like and his laid back unbothered personality just made ever scene hilarious.

10. Book that made you cry.
I don’t usually cry reading, I might get choked up but there have to be tears for me to consider it crying. Tears happened twice as far as I remember; during some of the deaths in Cleopatra’s Daughter by Michelle Moran, and during a scene in The Majaikl Chronicles.
While reading Cleopatra’s Daughter I was experiencing a hard death anniversary so I was just extra emotional and the main character losing people hit me hard. I ended up crying like a baby twice.
The Majaikl Chronicles has a scene where the main character, Aervane, describes the origins of his people, the Majaikl. The tale reminded me so much of the story and struggle of “the American Mulatto”, for lack of a better term, that it hurt and I got a bit emotional about it.

11. Book that made you happy.index
Stars Above by Marissa Meyer made me so happy you don’t understand! The YA fan girl in me adored the stories in that book and I had so much fun reading it. I squee’d, I laughed, I gushed at all the horrible YA cuteness.

12. Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)
I’m going to have to repeat myself and say Stars Above by Marissa Meyer. It’s no secret how I feel about the look of this series, they are some of the most beautiful books I own.

13. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?
Girl don’t get me started! I am so behind, I have no idea what I’m doing, where I’m going, I just. . . Send help okay?
I said I would read Harry Potter this year but who the fuck even knows anymore man. I live near TWO Little Free Libraries now and  I’m just trying to read everything I’m taking in. I’ve done a good job so far, my Little Free Library TBR is only 5 books long!

14 Favorite Book Community Member (Blogger, Booktuber and Bookstagrammer)
I am so bad at branching out. I find someone I like and I stick with them. My favorite BookTubers are, as always, BooksandLala and KatyTastic.

31027440photo

 

Since this Tag is SO LATE I’m sue everyone who would have done it has done it by now but so what. if you haven’t and you want too I’m tagging ya!

PEACE

Leave a Reply

