October Wrap-Up

October went by quick didn’t it? I feel like I just made my TBR and then suddenly it was Halloween and then BAM NaNoWriMo. Somehow during the two minutes this month seemed to take up I read 10 books, and hauled 7.

Let’s start with the haul shall we?

Most of my haul are Little Free Library finds, some of which will be put back but others I will hoard like the a man eating dragon.

  • Island of The Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell, a 14961488_1167776283260989_887352633_nchildhood favorite of mine which I’d lost. It is loosely based on the true story of a Native woman who lives alone on an island off the coast of California for 18 years.
  • The Ballad of Lucy Whipple by Karen Cushman, I loved Karen Cushmans The Midwifes Apprentice but this book, about a young girl named California Morning Whipple whose family moves to California in search of adventure, bored me to tears and I put it down.
  • 4000 Years of Uppity Woman by Vicki LeΓ³n This is a nonfiction book about “uppity” woman throughout history
  • Alias Hook by Lisa Jensen A retelling of Peter Pan from the point of view of Captain Hook

Also this month I bought all three existing books of The Gentleman Bastards Sequence by Scott Lynch.
14938011_1167751939930090_1507516316_n
What I Read:
I picked a TBR of 9 books earlier this month and of those I finished 8 so go me.

I finished The Lies of Locke Lamora on the 3rd but I didn’t count that towards my total for this month since I started it in September.
Then I read

  • The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros a coming of age tale told in vignettes 3/5
  • Tales From The Kingdom trilogy by Sarah Pinborough a twisted, and very much R rated, mash up of all your favorite fairy tales. 2.75/5
  • The Doula Book by Marshall H. Klaus This is a book that discusses the benefits of having a trained labor companion which I read because I’m studying to be a doula. 3/5
  • Three Sisters, Three Queens by Philippa Gregory. Another in her Plantagenet series; this time Gregory tells the story of Margaret Tudor who becomes the Queen of Scotland and lives a life of passion, treason, and war to get her son on his throne. Interestingly enough she somehow made this boring. 2.75/5
  • Red Seas Under Red Skies by Scott Lynch book 2 in the Gentleman Bastards Sequence. I’m madly in love with Jean Tannen 5/5
  • The Republic of Thieves by Scott Lynch. Book 3 in the Gentleman Bastards Sequence. Ugh. 3/5.
  • The Birth Partner by Penny Simkin, an in depth look at all of the stages of labor and delivery as well as what a birth partner can do to be there physically and emotionally for the laboring mom. 4/5
  • The Lightning Tree by Patrick Rothfuss. A short story following a day in the life of Bast. 4/5
  • Taking Charge of your Fertility by Toni Wechsler. This book goes in depth about female reproduction and as I joked with my friends “The wonders of the menstrual cycle!”, it teaches woman how to understand and track their cycles giving them the freedom to understand when something is wrong, as well as learning the best times to try to get pregnant and how not to get pregnant without the dangers of hormonal birth control or the guess work and chance of barrier methods. 5/5 this should be a text book in every high school.

In all it was an informative and highly emotional reading month for me. I just need more Jean Tannen in my life…

Leave a Reply

