NaNoWriMo 2016 Halfway Point

“Writing is a lonely job. Having someone who believes in you makes a lot of difference. They don’t have to makes speeches. Just believing is usually enough.” Stephen King, On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft

crest-05e1a637392425b4d5225780797e5a76

Guys.
Guys.
We are halfway through NaNoWriMo.

I know that NaNoWriMo is a challenge that many people participate in each year and so many people are able to turn out 50k words no problem. Hell, I’ve seen people who have already won NaNoWriMo this year and if you are one of those people Congratulations! Even with all of this I can’t help but feel proud of myself. For years I never thought I would be able to get this first draft out. I would try and would eventually grow fed up for one reason or another. Now, in just 15 days, I have written over half of my first draft. That is amazing. That brings tears to my eyes to know I can do that.

I know that the difference this time was my friends, one in particular, who helped me do this. All those years I was writing to and for myself. No one knew about my story, and those that did believed in me just as much as I did; they knew I *could* do it but probably wouldn’t. This time I told people, this time I have a dead line, and this time when I get discouraged I have a friend to tell me “Don’t fucken give up you asshole”.

My story is flowing again after starting the week in a bit of a funk. I am happier with my writing overall and my characters have taken me on a few surprise adventures as well! It’s always fun when that happens. I am finding that even after 7 years this story has a way of getting away from me. From characters showing me sides of them I hadn’t expected to a scene that really got away from me, I am discovering this story and it’s making it exciting to write. I am also itching to give Stephen Kings On Writing a reread but I LOST MY COPY and the moment I am able I am going to the store for another because the need is real.

On a more serious note; one theme that has been the entire point of my story since the beginning has been hitting me a bit had recently and that caught me by surprise. In a nutshell my story is about a kingdom whose king begins to go a little crazy and believes he has to bring his county to perfection in order for his god to love and favor him. He starts restricting rights and privileges for non-citizens, woman, and his working class. I hope you can see where I’m heading here. This past week has been an emotional one for a lot of people in my county and I’m finding that writing about the riots and protests in my fictional kingdom is genuinely making me emotional. 15 year old Tarina never imagined that distopian kingdom she was creating would be something she may very well have to live but the fear and uncertainty I’m feeling has helped me put myself in my characters shoes and their motivations are becoming much clearer.

Has your story evolved any over the past 2 weeks? How so? Are there any things in you book that are binging up emotions you weren’t expecting?

WORD COUNT:

sdg
I haven’t counted/updated for today yet

As of writing this I am a little over 27,744 words. I never know exactly until the end of the day because I am writing longhand like a loser. Looking at my “Words remaining” on the NaNoWriMo website and seeing only a little over 22k remaining really made me feel good. I have never written 50,000 words in 30 days before, but I did just write 25,000 in 13 so doing that again doesn’t seem like that daunting of a task!

FAVORITE LINE/PASSAGE: Believe it or not I quite like a lot of what I wrote this week. Here are a few sentences describing the port city of Cybre.

“The city itself was beautiful, in its way. Closest to the port sat businesses of all kinds; pubs, inns, whorehouses, lawyers, anything a freshly landed ship of people might find themselves in need of. Cybre was large and working class meaning the establishments were all in the comfortable place of being affordable to the average person while also boasting low odds that someone would pull a knife on you while you were inside.”

I remain, as always, pretty happy with my descriptions and less happy with my character interactions. I can barely hold a conversation in real life so its hard to write characters that can converse with ease. It’s a skill I do not have so how can I write it accurately?

That’s all for my update! How are those word counts, where is everyone? I will be posting weekly updates on my NaNo progress, stresses, and inspirations but you can get almost daily updates on Instagram.
@_volume_of_forgotten_lore_
NaNoWriMo user Bogorm

Leave a Reply

