NaNoWriMo 2016 Day 30!

crest-05e1a637392425b4d5225780797e5a76

That there was no week 3 update should tell you everything you need to know about how week 3 went for me. I wrote one. I just never got around to formatting and posting it and then by the time I had time it was already more than several days late and I said fuck it. To summarize though “I’M FALLING BEHIND WRITERS BLOCK WANTS ME DEAD WHY DID I START A THIRD JOB DURING NANOWRIMO?” moving on.

IT’S THE LAST DAY OF NANOWRIMO! We made it!

I “won” the night of the 28th but surprisingly I am not nearly as excited about it as I thought I’d be. I sort of just breathed a sigh of relief. I think it’s because I’m not finished, I still have a few scenes to write but I’ll talk about my plans later on. I am, however, more than thankful for all of the people who helped me do this; I failed at my last attempt because I didn’t tell anyone but this time I had my family, friends, and internet strangers encouraging me the whole way. Sometimes it just takes someone you care about to say “Don’t fucken give up you asshole.” to give you that little push when you’re discouraged 😂

In all I have to admit this entire experience was amazing. I learned a lot about myself and my abilities; best of all I am writing again. Not just my book but in my head I am writing stories again, dreaming of characters and worlds, and words.

I head somewhere that it takes 21 days to make or beak a habit, I don’t know if there is any science behind that but I do know that I have created a habit of writing that I am proud of. Just last night I almost went to bed without writing any words all day. I told myself there was no pressure, I’d already won! I couldn’t fall asleep until I got about 250 words in. Not a lot considering I’d done almost 3k the day before but the point is I HAD to write. I want to keep that need strong.

NaNoWiMo is the kind of thing that I think any writer should attempt. It’s much more than getting those 50k words in. I don’t know if I will ever do it again, I only have 1 other novel I want to write but the perfectionist in me is going to love on my current project for a long while to get it just right!

What was you NaNo like? Did you learn anything knew? What was you’re favorite part?

WORD COUNT:15300675_1193094320729185_1088829806_n

I “won” with 50,163 words but I’m still writing until midnight on the 30th (It’s 3pm right now) so we’ll see what my full 30 days gets me.

Edit: 51,033 as of midnight

FAVORITE LINE/PASSAGE:

Ugh. Nothing really. The quality is shit, everything is all tell and no show, its a cluster fuck of events and conversations that needed to happen to move the story with a dash of me feeling out character development and subplots. I’ve noticed my favorite passages all come from scenes with one group of characters. I don’t know what it is about them but writing them flows so much better than any of my other scenes.

“No.” she said, turning back to her bread and beans. Aarelith pinched the bridge of his nose and groaned.
What incredible luck, he thought, she fits in perfectly at Jesania. “Prince, that wasn’t a question.” he said. How he’d survived dealing with all of these pigheaded children he could never guess but he was beginning to wonder if it might not be worth it to track down the Lady Euthymia and let Aikaterine talk herself into an early grave.

For context he told her they needed to get her out of the country because once the King found out she was still alive she wouldn’t be able to stay that way long. She’s 16 and stubborn to a fault. She still doesn’t realize that sometime she should just listen to what people are telling her to do.

FUTURE PLANS:

My first draft is not finished, I still have several scenes to do. Then I have to basically rewrite the entire thing because there is a good deal of depth missing from many of the scenes and I spent the whole month retconning the hell out of everything. It’s plot hole city. Nothing major, I worked out the major stuff just smaller things like me making a whole scene about one of my characters learning about a big secret and then deciding afterwards that I don’t want her to know and I never bring it up again.

Once I fix all of that a lot of the character building and relationships need fleshing out. Part of this is me just being lazy and wanting to get words out but part of it is my characters changed as I wrote and got a better feel for them and their motivation so I want to make sure their development is smooth and not jumpy at all and some characters have little to no development.

Ugh. So. Plan.

  • Step one: finish this draft. Should take a day or two.
  • Step two: Put notebook away until January.
  • Step three: Continue this habit of writing everyday. I have several short stories I want to work on in the mean time.
  • Step four: Edit. Rewrite. Edit. Hand over to be beta read and edited. Cry. Rewrite. Edit. Rewrite.

By next NaNoWriMo I hope to have a pretty polished story 🙂 I hope everyone had an amazing NaNoWriMo 2016! Did you win? Did you meet your personal goal? Tell me about it down below!

IG: @_volume_of_forgotten_lore_ NaNoWriMo user Bogorm

Leave a Reply

