Inside Out Book Tag

Still no internet! (It’s Feb. 5th as i type) I’m spending this whole day stocking up on posts to queue.

I found this TAG! at A Backpack Full of Adventures and since I LOVE doing TAGs I decided to steal it 😛

6tag_190117-143110

Inside flap/Back of the book: Too much info? Or not enough? (Discuss)

FAR TOO MUCH! I like going into things blind; books, movies, video games, I don’t want to know anything. Obviously I can’t always go into something 100% blind but you’d be amazed by how often I manage it. I have bought books knowing as little as one person saying they hated it (yes, hated it so vehemently that I had to see what the fuss was about). Books like The Name of the Wind and The Lies of Locke Lamora I read knowing only that my friend told me I had to. I even have a bunch of naked hardcovers on my shelves that i picked up secondhand with nothing but the title, and maybe a quick glance at the first paragraph to go on.

This is probably why i have never read Harry Potter; I have done a PHENOMENAL JOB avoiding spoilers for that series for so long “just in case” I decided to read it one day and then, in the last few years, random people kept spoiling things for me and now I literally don’t give a shit anymore. It’s also why my reviews tend to skirt around even basic plot points. I just can’t handle any information besides “It’s historical fiction, set in this place”.

New book: What form do you want it in? Be honest: audio book, e-book, paperback, or hardcover?

Paperback or hardcover but I am partial to hardcover if it’s a book I feel like I’m going to want to keep for a while. I’m hard on my books 9and everything else in my possession) so they need to stand up to being tossed in a bookbag, lugged around, thrown, dropped, packed up, moved around, etc. Hardcovers just stand up better BUT paperbacks are lighter and more portable so sometimes it’s just a matter of the size of the book.

Scribble while you read? Do you like to write in your books, taking notes, making comments, or do you keep your books clean clean clean? (Tell us why)

Eh. Okay here’s the thing, I don’t give a shit about writing in books. I know. I know. Blasphemy; I’ll go find a stake you get the fire going.

I honestly think that scribbles and notes add to a book. I buy mostly used books and when I find scribbles and underlined bits it makes me feel connected to someone I will never know who read the same words I’m reading. I personally tend not to write in my books though because I usually find I don’t have much to say until after I’m finished reading it and then I’m not going to go back and take notes. The most I would want while reading is to highlight passages I like but I find sticky tabs work best because I can easily go back and find them. Maybe one day, with my favorite of favorites I will go through with a highlighter and a pen and permanently mark the pages but for now it never happens. Except reference/nonfiction books. Those i take notes in.

In your best voice read for us your favorite first sentence from a book.

I’m going to skip this one. 1) because I cannot read to you and 2) because I only have 188 books at my disposal right now and not a one of them has a first sentence that i could claim to be my “favorite”. I don’t remember if i have a favorite first sentence.

Scratch that, I keep coming back to it so here it is; “Marty was dead, to begin with.” Something about it always makes me chuckle.

Does it matter if the author is male or female when deciding on a book? What if you’re unsure of the authors gender?

I usually don’t pay attention to the authors gender when deciding to pickup a book. I do find that I tend to read more books by female authors but I tend to like books by male authors more.

Ever read ahead? Or have you ever read the last page way before you got there?

I used to always read the last sentence of a book before I started the book; I have no idea why it’s just what I did (I’m talking elementary/middle school age). That evolved into me just reading the last 3 words because it was less spoilers but I kept my tradition. It’s weird. I really have no idea why i did that.

Nowadays I will look ahead if a book is getting dull or is at a part i really hate; I never read ahead i just look to see when some dialog might be coming up, or a change of narrator or something.

Organized bookshelves or outrageous bookshelves?

Always organized. In my previous home I had them organized by purpose; my fiction (organized by color) was in my bedroom, on another shelf in the room was my fairytales/childrens books. Downstairs were nonfiction/reference organized by subject, then by author. On another shelf were graphic novels and comics organized by series/author and stand-alones were by color.

Now i only have one self so most of my books are in a giant rainbow with some reference books to the side.

Under oath; have you ever bought a book based off of the cover alone?

Oh hell yeah. I do it all of the time seeing as i don’t read the backs ever.

Take it outside to read, or stay in?

Depends on the season; i love reading in the hammock when it’s hot out but i do a lot of reading outside all year long because I take public transportation everywhere; it’s pretty common to find me reading on a bus top somewhere i the city.

What about you? As always i tag everyone!

Leave a Reply

